Serena Simmons Consultant Psychologist

…helping you to lead your multi-passionate life…

Who’s to blame for your bad luck?

Leave a comment

If you’ve followed my blog for any length of time, or seen me speak at an event you will know that most of my experience has been in Forensic settings within the Criminal Justice System here in the UK.  In this capacity I’ve worked over the years with a lot of damaged people, who very often feel like someone is to blame for all of their own wrong-doings.

maxresdefault

It’s my parents fault!

It’s the governments fault!

It was my managers fault!

It’s my friends fault!

The crimes they have committed are often seen via this lens of blame.  Things are often easier to deal with if you feel like you can spend your time in the blame-game.  You see that way you don’t have to ever take any real responsibility for your actions.

– We all do it!-  

Saying that people who may have committed heinous crimes do this blaming is one thing, but consider for a moment that we all do it?

You see, I think we do.  Not always, not all the time, but there is certainly a tendency to sometimes, want to point the finger.  Again, usually this is in light of not wanting to take responsibility; and usually in my experience this is because of FEAR.

This kind of blaming and the fear associated with taking responsibility can make us feel stuck and for those of us wanting to have a rich, full and happy life, one that might be full of multiple passions, blaming is not going to help us in moving forward.

In light of this idea, I’d like to share with you this neat little video that I came across which describes the concept so wonderfully.  You will hear the words of Brene Brown who is here putting forward her theories and research and the cute little animation really brings the idea to life!

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did, and I’d love to know what you think?

Til next week….

*Also, if you’d like to know more about the work of Brene Brown, you may be interested in her books which can be found HERE.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

