Serena Simmons Consultant Psychologist

…helping you to lead your multi-passionate life…

Resistance creates persistence….

Leave a comment

Have you ever felt down or upset and just tried to shake off the feeling and force yourself to feel better?

20140716-161950-58790842.jpg

To be honest I’m sure we’ve all done it from time to time. We have to go to work, meet a friend or we just have too much to do, and simply haven’t got time to indulge ‘feeling down’….we have to get on with things!

But what are the consequences of always battling through? I’ve been pondering this lately, as yet again I’ve been struck down by a summer bug of some kind and yet again, I’ve felt incredibly frustrated that, I have so much to do that I just don’t have time to be ill! Sound familiar?

It’s when I hear that all too familiar voice in my head, the one that says ‘just get on with it’, that I’ve learnt to stop and take a moment to think about what I am actually doing.

If I don’t feel well, what am I battling on for? What will happen to the world if I opt out for the day (or a couple of days for that matter). Will my workplace actually crumble without my presence? Will my friends not understand that I can’t meet them for drinks? Will my clients mind if I need to reschedule?

The fact is, is that in reality, all of these things can be sorted or figured out. The world will not stop turning if you have to stay at home and pull a blanket over your head for the day.

In my experience, of working with many different people from all walks of life, is that I’ve seen how what you resist, persists.

The cold that you resist will win in the end….you will eventually end up having to take an entire week off work because you didn’t allow yourself to get better when you first realised you were ill. The feelings that you see crop up again and again because of your broken heart, lack of happiness in your current job (fill in the blank), will rear it’s ugly head again, unless you give it the time and space to come to the surface so that you can face it, head on. To look it in the eye and give it the attention it’s needs so that it can truly be seen!

The things that we resist in our life, whether that be a familiar feeling, person, illness, whatever it is for you, need our attention. By resisting them, consider that we are allowing them to persist for longer and ultimately give them the power to renter our lives at any time…and these times are usually really most inconvenient for us!

Sometimes it’s is important to nurture yourself, by taking time out and allowing yourself, just for a moment to take your foot off the gas and indulge that persistent feeling….only then can we truly deal with something and not give it the power to persist for longer than we want it to.

Can you remember a time when you have either resisted or given in to a feeling? What happened to you and what was the eventual outcome…I’d love to hear from you.

Also, one week to go until our first Multi-passionate meet-up….you coming along? Details and the ability to purchase tickets via the News page.

I look forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

