Serena Simmons Consultant Psychologist

…helping you to lead your multi-passionate life…

Break your routine and make big life changes…

Leave a comment

Here I am rockin my 28th birthday…ok, so it wasn’t my 28th.  I was a bit older than that (!!!).

Nonetheless, I went HANG GLIDING!!

I have always, always wanted to try this.  I must dream about flying at least once a week and always have since my childhood, so off I went for my birthday.  A few years ago I decided that every year, post birthday, I would try something new that essentially broke my usual routine.  This thing, I decided, should be new…a learning curve, a challenge if you will.

Since deciding this I have taught myself to sew, learnt to play the guitar, started my PhD, started writing my book, bought my house (and aimed to get it in a house mag – which I did, see here for my previous post) and some other things in-between.  I suppose it’s a bit like a bucket list?

Anyway, I ticked something off my list pretty quickly this time, as often these are not small things I undertake, as I got to go hang-gliding….hurrah!

I absolutely loved it, and when I have a bit more time on my hands, as well as the available cash as it’s not the cheapest hobby you can have, then I’m going to take this up that’s for sure.

I feel really strongly that we as human beings can only reach our full potential when we challenge ourselves like this.  We have to push our boundaries to evolve, to stay dynamic, to feel alive and grow. In my Coaching Practice I’m often encouraging people to do things that push their boundaries.  Think about it.  If there is something that you feel ‘scares’ you, is it because you don’t want to do it, or because you really want to do it, but you are just afraid of what the outcome might be?  They are different things.

Anyway, here are a few pictures from the day.  Do tell me about the last time you pushed yourself out of your comfort zone?  What did you do?  How did it feel and what are you going to do next?

Till next week!

P1020886 P1020877 P1020879 P1020891 P1020892

Only just over 5 weeks to go until MPWC2014…..will you be joining us?

Tickets are now on sale through Eventbrite or at http://www.mpwc2014.com

Follow us on Twitter at @mpwc2014

Facebook: Serena Coaching

Leave a Reply

